Microgrids
line

MICROGRIDS

Energiespeicherung ist der Schlüssel, um eine sichere Stromversorgung in Inselnetzen zu ermöglichen auch ohne fossile Brennstoffe. Unsere Speicherlösungen erbringen kritische Systemdienstleistungen und puffern Stromnachfrage und -angebot. Damit wird der Dieselgenerator als zentrales Element des Energiesystems abgelöst.

WARUM BATTERIESPEICHER?

BIS ZU 100% ERNEUERBARE
Unsere weltweit einzigartige netzbildende Speicherlösung ermöglicht die sichere Integration von bis zu 100 Prozent Einspeisung aus fluktuierenden Energiequellen - der Rest wird gespeichert. Entworfen und erprobt in unseren Technologiezentren, bewährt auf der Insel Graciosa. Einfach nur bahnbrechend!
WENIGER KOSTEN
Wenn sie ihren Generator nur noch als Backup für Schlechtwetterperioden nutzen, sparen Sie eine Menge Kraftstoff. Und: Weil Sie jetzt nicht mehr die Lastkurve nachfahren müssen, können Sie ihn jetzt auch optimal betreiben und steigern so die Lebensdauer des Generators bei gleichzeitig reduzierten Wartungskosten.
BESSERE STROMQUALITÄT
In schwachen Netzen kommt es häufiger zu ärgerlichen und oft teuren Lastabwürfen. Außerdem erfordern solche Netze häufige Investitionen in die Infrastruktur. Unsere Insellösungen stellen das reibungslose Zusammenspiel verschiedener Erzeuger und Verbraucher sicher.
INSELN AUF DEM FESTLAND
Wir haben unsere Inselnetz-Expertise auf das Festland übertragen. Mit der Erfahrung aus mehr als einem Jahrzehnt Projektrealisierung haben wir das nötige Wissen, um zum Beispiel Minen oder andere Gebiete ohne Anschluss an das Verbundnetz zuverlässig mit Strom zu versorgen.

WAS KÖNNEN WIR FÜR SIE TUN?

 

Wir simulieren unsere Speicherlösungen für Inselnetze nicht nur in unseren Technologiezentren, sondern zeigen ihren Mehrwert auch jeden Tag in der Praxis. Dank der weltweit einzigartigen Erfahrung aus zehn Jahren angewandter Forschung können wir Ihnen eine Komplettlösung bieten: Von Bedarfsanalyse und Systemauslegung, über Projektentwicklung bis zu Erichtung und Betrieb.

#1

BEDARFSANALYSE UND SYSTEMAUSLEGUNG

 

Mit ausgefeilten Simulations-Tools die wir speziell für Insellösungen entwickelt haben, ermitteln wir alle relevanten Faktoren: Die nötige Erzeugungskapazität und die daraus resultierenden Lastflüsse. Unter Berücksichtigung lokaler Betriebsbedingungen wählen wir die ideale Speicherauslegung für Ihre Anforderungen.

 

#2

TEST AUF HERZ UND NIEREN

 

In unseren Technologiezentren testen wir die Auslegung des Inselsystems unter realen Bedingungen: Mit moderner Leistungselektronik, Stromleitungen und vor allem echten Lastflüssen und Batterien. Wir nutzen auch einen Dieselgenerator um das Zusammenspiel von erneuerbarer und konventioneller Erzeug zu testen – natürlich – alles auf Basis von realen Wetter- und Lastdaten.

#3

PROJEKTENTWICKLUNG UND BETRIEB

 

Zusammen mit dem Energiespeichersystem installieren unsere Ingenieure auch ein speziell für Inselnetze entwickeltes Energy Management System (EMS). Das EMS gewährleistet das reibungslose Zusammenspiel von erneuerbaren Energieerzeugungsanlagen, Energiespeichern und konventionellen Generatoren.

 

PROJEKTE

IHR NÄCHSTER SCHRITT

Haben Sie Fragen oder wollen mehr zu unseren Insel-Lösungen wissen? Kommen Sie gerne auf uns zu!

EUROPA

 

berlin@younicos.com
+49 30 818 79 9010

 

Younicos AG
Am Studio 16,
12489 Berlin
Germany

NORDAMERIKA

 

austin@younicos.com
+1 512 268 8191

 

Younicos Inc.
3100 Alvin DeVane Blvd
Austin, Texas 78741
USA



DOWNLOADS

Microgrids
line

MICROGRIDS

Energy storage is the key to realizing the full potential of microgrids and eliminating dependence on fossil fuel systems for power supply and power quality. It strengthens your grid by providing critical system services to buffer the impact of fluctuating power demand and supply. This reduces the run-time on aging and expensive back-up diesel generation.

WHY BATTERY STORAGE?

INTEGRATE UP TO 100 PERCENT RENEWABLES
Younicos microgrid solutions ensure the reliable grid integration of variable, intermittent renewable energy sources of up to 100 percent. Simulated at our MW-scale technology centers, proven on Graciosa. Truly game-changing!
REDUCE YOUR GENERATION COSTS
By operating your generator solely as a backup power source, you will save a lot on fuel. At the same time, you increase your generator’s lifespan and decrease O&M costs by running it mainly at optimal loading and reduced cycling.
POWER QUALITY AND RELIABILITY
A weak grid increases the risk of load losses and may require additional investment in electrical infrastructure. Our microgrid solutions not only manage multiple resources, but also strengthen your grid by providing grid services within milliseconds, with highest precision and the utmost reliability.
FROM ISLAND TO MAINLAND MICROGRIDS
We have taken our island grid expertise and applied it to successful grid-forming solutions on mainland and urban networks. Based on our experience of a decade of R&D and project realization, we have all the tools needed to construct an efficient and reliable local micro-grid.


SELECTED MICROGRID CASE STUDY

We have analysed an island with approx. 5,500 inhabitants that was originally powered by diesel generators and simulated the economic and ecological effects from installing a battery energy storage system (BESS). The installation of the BESS leads to savings that significantly outstrip the operating costs of the BESS, yielding an unlevered project IRR of at least 20.4 percent and resulting in a payback time of 5 years or less.


The system would primarily provide ‘N-1 Replacement’ and ‘Volatility Smoothing’ in parallel while also allowing for an increased use of renewable energy which would otherwise be curtailed.

HOW CAN WE SUPPORT YOU?

 

Our energy storage solutions for microgrids are simulated in our state-of-the-art Technology Centers and proven in our operating projects. Based upon unmatched expertise drawn from over a decade of R&D and system deployments, we will provide you with a complete solution: from needs analysis and system design to project specification to installation and operation.

#1

NEEDS ANALYSIS AND
SYSTEM DESIGN

 

Using sophisticated in-house modeling tools developed specifically for microgrid scenarios, we quantify a range of options incorporating different resource capacity factors and load flow scenarios. Based upon your input on local operating conditions, we assess the size and scale of the system needed to maintain grid stability under different scenarios.

#2

PROJECT SPECIFICATION & TESTING

 

Using chosen battery technology and power electronics, as well as actual power lines and transmission switches, we test the entire microgrid design under real conditions in our Technology Center. To test interaction between resources, we use our onsite diesel generator and renewable generation simulators to recreate energy flows based on weather data.

#3

PROJECT DEPLOYMENT & OPERATION

 

Along with installation of the storage system, our engineering team oversees implementation of the microgrid Energy Management System (EMS). The EMS is specifically configured to ensure that all critical grid services are provided by the specified microgrid resource mix – incorporating renewables, energy storage and conventional generation.

FEATURED CASE STUDY

WHAT’S NEXT ?

 

If you have any questions or need further information, feel free to contact us. We look forward to hearing from you.

EUROPE

 

berlin@younicos.com
Call: +49 30 818 79 9010

 

Younicos GmbH
Am Studio 16,
12489 Berlin
Germany

NORTH AMERICA

 

austin@younicos.com
Call: +1 512 268 8191

 

Younicos Inc.
3100 Alvin DeVane Blvd
Austin, Texas 78741
USA



DOWNLOADS